The Dark

darkness-as-me

Source : http://www.deacongarydumer.com

I walk
In darkness
In mist
Steps hesitant
Faltering
Round my heart
A fist
Hands stretched
Seeking

The darkness
It’s all consuming
Little by little
I merge
With the dark
With the void

With an angry hiss
It eats away
My soul
My heart
My day

I can’t breathe
The fumes
Thick, heavy
Smothering
My eyes water
In their sightless orbs
Wishing, pining
Hankering after Dark

A Dark not as dark
As the dark mist
Round my heart-
A dark
Less dark-
A dark
Where I can breathe
Feel, smell, see
The darkness
That surrounds me

One thought on “The Dark

Leave a Reply

