Aphasia

aphasia-logo

Source : http://www.metal4africa.com

When I woke up
I never realised
I was sleeping still
Stuck forever
In an endless
Nightmare.

I open my mouth
And speak
A croak, a moan
A hiss
Over words-
Were they?-
Tasting alien
Over my own lips.

The images in my mind
Chase shadows
That sired them
Yet panting they stop
Suddenly orphans,
Bastards-
The words hazy,
Disappear.

I hold my pen
And write
But what
I never know.
Which language
Which script
What word-
Only a dark blot
On paper white
Now smudged
With red-
My tears of blood.

“Aphasia”,
She read out.
“Noun:
The loss
Of language…”

Leave a Reply

